The Vampire Diaries - 1.02 "The Night of the Comet"

The Vampire Diaries - 1.02 "The Night of the Comet"

Elena: “You didn’t tell me you have a brother.”
Stefan: “We’re not close… It’s… It’s complicated…”
Elena: “Always! He told me about your ex, Katherine.”
Stefan: “What did he say?”
Elena: “That she broke your heart.”
Stefan: “That was a long time ago.”
Elena
: “When you lose someone, it stays with you, always reminding you how easy it is to get hurt.”
Stefan: “Elena…”
Elena: “It’s okay, Stefan! I get it. You have no idea how much I get it. That complicated brother? Check! Complicated ex? Check! Too complicated to even contemplate dating? Double check! It’s okay. We met and we talked and it was epic, but the Sun came up and reality sat in.”

The Vampire Diaries - 1.02 "The Night of the Comet"

The Vampire Diaries - 1.02 "The Night of the Comet"

[Stefan jumps on the roof]
Damon: “Not bad! Have you been eating bunnies?”
Stefan: “Let her go!”
Damon: “Really? Okay!” [fakes throwing Vicki off the roof]
Stefan: “No! No!”
Damon: “Relax! I don’t need her to be dead, but… you might! [to Vicki] What attacked you the other night?”
Vicki: “I don’t know, an animal!”
Damon: “Are you sure about that? Think about it! Think really hard! What attacked you?”
Vicki: [shocked] “Vampire!!”
Damon: “Who did this to you?!?”
Vicki: “YOU DID!”
Damon: “Wrong!”
Stefan: “Don’t!”
Damon [to Vicki]: “Stefan.”
Stefan: “Don’t!”
Damon: [looks into Vicki’s eyes] “Stefan Salvatore did this to you!”
Vickyi: “Stefan Salvatore did this to me.”
Damon: “He’s a vampire. A vicious, murderer monster.”
Stefan: “Please, Damon, don’t! Please, don’t do this!”
Damon: “You couldn’t fix it before, I don’t know what you can do now” [rips Vicki’s bandage off and throws her in Stefan’s arms] “Your choice of lifestyle has made you weak! A couple of vampire tricks, it’s nothing compared to the power that you could have! That you now need! But you can change that! Human blood gives you the strength. You have two choices: you can feed and make her forget or you can let her scream vampire through the town square”.
Stefan: “That’s what this is about? You wanna expose me?”
Damon: “NO! I want you to remember who you are!”
Stefan: “Why? So I, so I feed? So I kill? So I remember how it is to be brothers again? You know what? Let her go! Let her tell everyone that vampires have returned to Mystic Falls. Let them chain me up and let them drive a stake through my heart. Because at least I’ll be free of you!”

The Vampire Diaries - 1.02 "The Night of the Comet"

The Vampire Diaries - 1.02 "The Night of the Comet"

Elena: “So the thing is, I got home tonight, planning on doing what I always do: write in my diary. I have been since my mom gave me one when I was ten. So I get everything out, everything I’m feeling and it all goes in this little book that I hide on the second shelf behind this really hideous mermaid. But then I realized I’d just be writing things that I should probably be telling you.”
Stefan: “What would you write?”
Elena: “I would write: Dear Diary, today I convinced myself it is okay to give up. Don’t take risks. Stick to the status quote, no drama, it’s just not the time. Though my reasons aren’t reasons, they’re excuses All I’m doing is hiding from the truth and the truth is… I’m scared, Stefan! I’m scared that if I let myself be happy for even one moment then the world is just gonna come crashing down and… I don’t know if I can survive that…”
Stefan: “Do you wanna know what I would write?”
[Elena nods her head]
Stefan: “I met a girl, we talked, it was epic, then the Sun came up and reality sat in. All this is reality, right here!”

