The Vampire Diaries - 2.01 "The Return"

Stefan: “You haven’t changed at all, have you?”
Katherine: “Well, you have. You’re stronger, meaner. Sexy!”
Stefan: “Don’t flirt with me, Katherine! I’m not Damon. I haven’t spent the last 145 years obsessed with you.”
Katherine: “Based on your choice of women, I’d say otherwise. Although I’ll admit, it does bother me that you fell in love with someone else.”
Stefan: “I was never in love with you, Katherine! You compelled me! None of my feelings were real.”
Katherine: “Believe what you want, Stefan. But I know the truth. And deep down, so do you.”
Stefan: “The truth? Well, the truth is you’re the same lying, selfish, manipulative bitch you’ve always been. So whatever it is that brought you here, why don’t you get on with it and leave town? Because if you don’t I will hunt you down and then I will rip your heart out!”
Katherine: “You wanna know why I’m here, Stefan? I came back for you!”
Stefan: “Well, the problem, Katherine, is that I hate you!”
Katherine
: [stabs him] “You hate me, huh?That sounds like the beginning of a love story, Stefan, not the end of one.”

The Vampire Diaries - 2.01 "The Return"

Elena: “Katherine was in this house. That means she has been invited in. What are we gonna do?”
Damon: “Move!”
Elena: “Very helpful! Thank you!”
Damon: “If Katherine wants you dead, there’s zero you can do about it. You will be dead! But you are not. So clearly she has other plans.”
Stefan: “Right! And we need to find out what those other plans are and not provoke her in the process. What happened tonight, when you thought she was Elena?”
Damon: [pause] “To risk another frown line encroaching on a very crowded forehead… We… kissed.”
Elena: “And you thought it was me?”
Stefan: “What do you mean you kissed?”
Damon: “Well, you know, when two lips pucker and they go *mu-ah*”
[Stefan get closer to him]
Damon: “Don’t be obvious, Stefan!”
Elena: “Stefan, wait! He kissed Katherine, not me! I wouldn’t do that! We don’t have time for this, guys!”
Stefan: “Later!”

Elena: “John must know something. There has to be a reason why Katherine tried to kill him.”
Damon: “She’s Katherine! She loves to play games and you’re fooling yourselves thinking you’re gonna find out what she’s up to before she wants you to know.”
Stefan: “No, actually, Elena is right. John could know something through Isobel. Your mother, she was in touch with Katherine, so maybe we could go to the hospital, get him to talk.”
Damon: “I’ve got a better idea.”
Elena: “What’s that?”
Damon: “I’m just gonna ignore the bitch! See ya!”
Elena: “Is that smart?”
Damon: “If Katherine thinks she’s being ignored, it’ll lure her out. She’ll make a move.”
Stefan: “Yeah? Then what?”
Damon: “Stake her, rip her head off, something poetic… We’ll see.”

The Vampire Diaries - 2.01 "The Return"

Stefan: “What are you doing here?”
Katherine: “After the way you treated me last night, I thought a public place would be less violent.”
Stefan: “Taking this a little far, don’t you think? Elena could walk in any moment.”
Katherine: “Hm, but that’s part of the fun, Stefan. Damon’s here, somewhere. I’ve been avoiding him.”
[Matt comes by]
Matt: “Hey, guys!”
Katherine: “Hi, Matt! I heard that Caroline is doing much better. Her recovery was practically miraculous. You must be so relieved.”
Matt: “I am. Thanks, Elena!” [he leaves]
Katherine: “Aw, his eyes are so blue!”
Stefan: “You need to leave now!”
Katherine: “You’re hurting my feelings, Stefan. Damon was so much happier to see me. Then again, he thought I was your girlfriend. So…”
Stefan: “Katherine, I’m not doing this with you!”
Katherine: “Okay. How about we don’t have a couple’s fight in front of all your friends? Walk with me!”
Stefan: “Just tell me what you’re doing.”
Katherine: “Maybe I missed you. Is that acceptable reason?”
Stefan: “What game are you playing?”
Katherine: “What, you wanna play with me?”
Stefan: “I don’t know. How can I play, if I don’t know that rules?”
Katherine: “No rules, Stefan! Don’t you remember? No rules!”

The Vampire Diaries - 2.01 "The Return"

Elena: “Hey! How are you doing?”
Damon: “Great, Elena! Walking on sunshine! Thanks for asking.”
Elena: “Damon!”
Damon: “Elena!”
Elena: “We should be able to talk about this. We are close enough now. I really wanna know how you’ re doing.”
Damon: “I kissed you. I thought you kissed me back. Doppelganger hi-jinks ensued… How do you think I’m doing?”
Elena: “I think that you’re hurt.”
Damon: “Hmmm, no, I don’t get hurt, Elena.”
Elena: “No, you don’t admit that you get hurt. You get angry, cover it up and then you do something stupid.”
Damon: “You’re scared! You think Katherine is gonna send me off the depend, don’t you? I don’t need her for that. You know what? Why is such a surprise that I would kiss you?”
Elena: “That’s… not a surprise. I’m surprised that you thought I’d kiss you back.”
Damon: [pause] “Now I’m hurt.”

The Vampire Diaries - 2.01 "The Return"

Damon: “I have a question. Answer it and it’s back to fireworks and rockets red glare. Answer it right and I’ll forget the last 145 years I have spent missing you. I’ll forget how much I loved you. I’ll forget everything and we can start over. This could be our defining moment. Cause we have the time, the beauty of eternity. I just need the truth, just once!”
Katherine: “Stop! I already know the question. And its answer. The truth is I’ve never loved you. It was always Stefan.”

The Vampire Diaries - 2.01 "The Return"

Elena: “Have you been drinking? And you’re upset, that’s not a good combination.”
Damon: “No, I’m not upset! Upset is an emotion specific to those who care.”
Elena: “Come on, Damon, that’s a lie. You care…”
Damon: “You’re surprised that I thought you’d kiss me back? You can’t imagine that I’d believe that you’d want to?”
Elena: “Damon…”
Damon: “What we’ve been doing here… means something… You’re the liar, Elena! There is something going on between the two of us and you know it. And you’re lying to me and you’re lying to Stefan. And most of all, you’re lying to yourself! I can prove it!”
[he kisses her]
Elena
: “No! Damon, don’t! What’s wrong with you?”
Damon: “Lie about this!”
Elena: “Stop it! You’re better than this! Come on!”
Damon: “That’s where you’re wrong.”
[kisses her again]
Elena: “No, no, Damon! I care about you! Listen to me, I care about you! I do, but… I love Stefan. It’s always gonna be Stefan!”

